No match for INDIA in T20

Gautam Gambhir's blazing knock of 63 helped India crush Australia by seven wickets in the one-off Twenty20 international at the Brabourne stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

Gambhir smashed six boundaries and a six in his 52-ball knock as India coasted to the victory target of 167, with 11 balls to spare.

India lost an early wicket in the form of Virender Sehwag for 5, but Gambhir and Robin Uthappa (35) entertained the crowd with delightful strokeplay. The youngsters put on a quick 82-run partnership to put India on course to victory.

Yuvraj Singh finished unbeaten on 35, inclusive of three sixes, while captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit a huge six to score the winning runs.

Earlier, Ricky Ponting mashed 76 off 53 deliveries to guide Australia to a healthy 166 for 5 in their 20 overs.

Harbhajan Singh was instrumental in restricting the Australians in the middle over, as he took one wicket for 17 runs in his four.

Murali Kartik, making his Twenty20 debut, also impressed giving away 27 runs in his four overs.

India are the reigning Twenty20 World champions, having won the inaugural tournament in South Africa last month.

This is the first every Twenty20 international on Indian soil.